What is the purpose of the world?

Growing up in an ultra orthodox environment I was always taught that there is a purpose to this world. I was taught that everything happens for a reason. I was taught to believe in the afterlife. I was taught that without religion living is meaningless.

I disagree. Throughout my frumless journey I have learnt many things. The one thing that I have learnt is that I can have a good, meaningful life without religion. I am a living example of experiencing a meaningful, happy, peaceful life without all the restrictions that religion brings.

I have learnt to accept that there are questions that I will never know the answer to and that’s ok with me. Just like I can’t fully understand how my mobile phone works, it really doesn’t matter to me. I know it works, I know I can use it and I know that if it breaks down I’ll pay someone who does understand how it works to fix it.

I have learnt that I don’t know if there is a god, I don’t know how this world came about, I don’t know if there is an afterlife and many more questions that I really don’t care to know the answer to.

I have come in contact with many people from various cultural and religious backgrounds and everyone deals with these questions in their own way. Some believe in the big bang theory, some believe in reincarnation, some believe in god and some believe in religion.

I have asked many people from diverse backgrounds what the purpose of this world is. Only one answer truly stuck with me. A middle aged woman from the US told me that we are born into this world and our job is to make sure that when we leave this world we leave it in a better state so that our children can continue to thrive for generations to come.

I really loved this answer as it makes so much sense. I found that all other answers which I came across just led to more questions. This answer rang true to me. This is an answer which doesn’t need any religious beliefs. This is the only answer which I felt that everyone from every background can relate too. This is how to have a meaningful, purposeful life without religion.

Leave a Reply

